Acceptable Foods and Which to Avoid

1When it comes to the foods you can eat when you are on a gluten-free diet the avoidable foods list is much longer than thelist of foods you can have. There are so many foods now that have preservatives and other ingredients that are a part of the gluten family that it makes it much more difficult to eat, but it’s not impossible if you know what to look for.

Foods that contain cornmeal, flax, millet, amaranth, and arrowroot are just a few of the ingredients you can have. This makes it a little easier to make your own or find foods you can have. You’ll find hominy, buckwheat, and tapioca are also ingredients you can have when you’re on a gluten-free diet.

Unless you have other food allergies the following foods are allowed for those on the gluten-free diet.

1. Fresh eggs
2. Fruits and vegetables
3. Beans, nuts, and seeds
4. Most dairy products
5. Fresh meats like poultry and fish

You do have to be careful with some of these foods though because they may contain added ingredients that could cause you problems. If your meats are made with a marinade or are breaded you may not be able to eat them. Unless you do it yourself and you’re sure they don’t contain gluten it’s not a good idea to eat them. A lot of these types of added ingredients contain gluten in some form.

The list of foods to avoid is much longer than the ones you can have, so it’s vital you know exactly what to look for so you know you’re eating safe foods. Here are a few for you to look for.

1. Barley in almost any form (this includes malt flavoring or vinegar)
2. Wheat
3. Triticale (this is a cross between rye and wheat)
4. Rye

Ingredients to look for that need to be avoided include the following.

1. Semolina
2. Spelt
3. Farina
4. Kamut
5. Bulgur
6. Durum flour
7. Graham flour

There are a number of foods you need to avoid when eating gluten-free because they contain many of the ingredients known to contain gluten. They would include some of the following.

1. French Fries
2. Pasta’s
3. Salad Dressings
4. Soups and soup bases
5. Croutons
6. Processed lunch meats
7. Sauces
8. Seasoned rice mixes

There are many more types of foods you must avoid. Some are regional while others may be known only to families. The most important thing to remember is ask if you’re unsure of the ingredients.

Avoiding foods is hard to do, but you must make it work for you when you eat gluten-free. No matter how good you feel or how small the amount of gluten is in a food you want to have, it’s just not worth the risk. It’s also important to remember, natural doesn’t necessarily mean you can eat it, so it’s best to avoid the foods listed above that are dangerous for those that eat gluten-free and enjoy the ones listed above that are safe and good for you to eat.

Speak Your Mind